If It’s Not Dirty, Don’t Wash It

Several years ago a  “sister” blog ( theheartof thehousehold.blogspot.com) asked its readers for their best housekeeping hints. Kim C. wrote the following comments.  I’m guessing Kim is truly the Voice of Experience.  As you’ll see, it’s pretty clear she must have more than one or two children!

“Clothes do not get washed with every wearing. It’s often just not necessary, and it can be poor stewardship since laundering wears out clothes more quickly. [Cleaningproz note:  Where do you think all that dryer lint comes from, if  not your clothes?] We usually do a quick visual inspection and maybe a sniff test. Obviously, certain items are excluded from this policy. Please tell me you assumed that without me having to say it.

“Towels don’t get washed every time. With a few exceptions, we think a towel can be used many times before it needs washing. Maybe I should have mentioned that we each have our own personal keep-your-hands-off bath towel.

“Children do not necessarily have to bathe daily. It’s just not necessary. Little ones don’t geet body odor like big people, and the ones in diapers tend to get the important parts washed several times a day anyway. so the smaller people in our house–the ones who need constant supervision in the tub–get bathed on an as-needed basis.

“It’s ok for kids to sleep in their clothes. Really, if they spent all day indoors and their clothes are clean, they don’t need to change into PJs. If they don’t care, I don’t care. It’s one less thing to do in the evening and one less piece of laundry to wash.”

So what’s your take on these housekeeping hints from Kim? Are you thinking, Finally someone has the courage to say what I’ve been thinking all along? Or are you saying, Ewwww! That’s disgusting? Either way, please share your comments below. We’d love to hear from you.

33 thoughts on “If It’s Not Dirty, Don’t Wash It

  1. Hi! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a quick shout out
    and say I truly enjoy reading your blog posts. Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that go over the same topics?

    Thanks for your time!

    1. There are some good housekeeping blogs, but most emphasize family and recipes over housekeeping per se. There are also some interesting web sites that have a lot of housekeeping tips: Better Homes and Gardens, Readers Digest are just two of them. The best web site I’ve found for housekeeping tips is at http://www.housekeeping.about.com. Sometimes it suffers from TMI (Too Much Information) but generally it’s all to the point and helpful. Hope this helps you.

    1. I’d have to agree with that on a routine basis, but when they’re little and fall asleep in their clothes, do we really want to wake them up just to put on their jammies?? Just saying….

  2. Thanks for a marvelous posting! I really enjoyed reading it, you may be a great author.

    I will always bookmark your blog and will eventually come back very
    soon. I want to encourage you to continue your great writing, have a nice day!

  3. i agree. You don’t have to wash clothes after every wearing. My son takes his jeans off and puts them in the wash after wearing them for a few hours, or after sitting in his room in them for a day without leaving the house, he will put them in the wash basket. I just tumble them for a few minutes and they fall back into shape and look freshly washed. It has fooled him for years.

  4. Hello would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with? I’m planning to start my own blog
    in the near future but I’m having a hard time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique.
    P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

  5. Have you ever thought about adding a little bit more than just your
    articles? I mean, what you say is important and everything.
    However imagine if you added some great visuals or videos to
    give your posts more, “pop”! Your content is excellent but with pics and video clips, this website could certainly be
    one of the greatest in its field. Wonderful blog!

  6. Hello! Someone in my Facebook group shared this site
    with us so I came to check it out. I’m definitely loving the information. I’m
    bookmarking and will be tweeting this to my followers!
    Superb blog and terrific design and style. Thanks and more thanks!

  7. Sooooooo amazing submit, i love some words so much
    and could i quote a few of them on my blog site?

    Also I have e-mailed you relating to could it be probable for us to exchange our links,
    wish talking with you soon. Regards!

  8. I am really impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your blog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you modify it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a nice blog like
    this one these days.

Leave a Reply

