Time-Saving Laundry Tips

Laundry can be overwhelming to even the best of housekeepers.  You can keep a perfectly clean house and still be flummoxed by laundry.  Hope some of these suggestions are helpful.

  • No need to rinse the measuring cup on your liquid detergent, just throw it in the washer with the clothes and it will come out nice and clean. (I’ve even had one go through the dryer with no ill effects)!
  • Try a grease cutting liquid soap like Dawn as a pre-treatment for grease spots. Rub it in well, then launder as usual.  The beauty of this method is that it can stay on as long as you like before washing.
  • Whenever you have a potentially stubborn spot, pre-treat it then wash it in the hottest water safe for the fabric. Hang to dry.  Putting the item in the dryer will set the stain.
  • Fold the laundry as soon as it comes out of the dryer. Then put it away as soon as it’s folded. It makes life so much easier.
  • Whenever possible, wash one persons clothes per load. Using cold water you can put whites and colored clothes together in one load.  You won’t believe how much time you will save sorting and putting clothes away. Tide makes a detergent especially formulated for cold water.
  • Add a half cup or so of baking soda to each wash load and decrease your detergent by half.  Your clothes will look better and smell right-off-the-clothes-line fresh because the baking soda eliminates soap residue. You can buy a large bag of baking soda–12 pounds, I think–at Costco or other warehouse stores.

In our next post, we’ll share a few more time-saving laundry tips. In the meantime, what helps you get through the laundry detail? Please share below.

12 thoughts on “Time-Saving Laundry Tips

  1. In a perfect world I’d sort according to what gets hung on a hanger and what goes in drawers. Also I try to buy my family the same brand of socks when they need new ones, and when I’m all done washing and matches are nowhere to be found the singles become dusting mitts… They do a great cleanin job on the bird cage 🙂

  2. Nice blog!…..A thing I do to save time is a set my oven timer to go off about ten minutes before my load is done washing or drying…This way I know to finish up what I am doing so I can go complete the laundry for the day…I find that if I do not set the timer I will forget and the clothes could sit there for hours before I get to them…Next thing I know they are all wrinkled, etc….

    Just my 2-cents!

  3. Very nice blog….my suggestion would be, put one laundry basket in each room where dirty laundry is discarded.this will save your time too.

  4. Sounds like someone knows what they are talking about… My wife could give you all the tips you need about doing the laundry but you would have to come to new orleans to learn… LOL

Leave a Reply

